Saturday 15th March at 19.30hrs

Venue: TBA

Rachel Podger - Baroque Violin

Tickets: £15, U26 £6 or included in the Season Ticket 2022-23. Children free.




Johann Vilsmayr: Partita no 6 in A major, from Articifiosus Concentus pro Camera (1715)

John Walsh: Select movements from manuscript (1705), Corelli, Gasparini, Vitali, Lonati and Purcell

J.S. Bach: Toccata and fugue BWV 565, arr. for solo violin in A minor (arr. Chad Kelly)

Nicola Matteis: Fantasia Con discretion

Chad Kelly: Phantasia for solo violin

Johan H Roman: Assaggio in D minor

J P von Westhoff: Suite pour le violin seul sans basse continue dans Le Mercure Galant de Janvier 1683

Set of Celtic tunes – trad. Tunes & Playford’s Dancing Master

Rachel Podger, described by The Times as “the unsurpassed British glory of the baroque violin”, has established herself as a leading interpreter of the Baroque and Classical music periods. She was the first woman to be awarded the prestigious Royal Academy of Music/Kohn Foundation Bach Prize in October 2015, Gramophone Artist of the Year 2018, and Ambassador for REMA’s Early Music Day 2020. A creative programmer, she is the founder and Artistic Director of Brecon Baroque Festival and her ensemble Brecon Baroque. Rachel is Patron for the Continuo Foundation.

Rachel is a dedicated educator and holds an honorary position at both the Royal Academy of Music and the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. She also has a relationship with The Juilliard School in New York.